My sister called me this morning. She likes to keep up with how I’m doing through my blog. She hates the eye staring at her in my earlier header image – calls it creepy. So I told her I’d change it.

The current header is a picture I took while at Animal Kingdom with my friend, Melanie. It reflects what I feel like I’m doing when I write these posts.

I’m also in the process of slowly paring down my “stuff”. Today, I went through the suitcases and bags under my bed. They’re full of clothes in sizes that are too small for me to wear right now. Some is stuff I’ve worn in the past, some is stuff I bought or was given for “the future”. I managed to part with two big shopping bags full of clothes (and it doesn’t look like anything’s gone). Some of them still have the price tags on them, but everything in the bags is something I just can’t imagine myself ever wearing [again]. Some of it … I don’t know what I was thinking when I acquired it in the first place. I’m sure that if I had one of those professional organizers with me, I would have gotten rid of a lot more. But the stuff I kept is stuff I can imagine wearing when I fit into those sizes again. I don’t know if it’s good or bad that I have all these different size wardrobes. A lot of it is black, which is great since I need it for work. Yes, shopping for new clothes would be fun, but right now …

I sign the bankruptcy papers on Thursday. There are two [closed] credit cards that I paid for 2+ years, and it didn’t make a dent. I’d closed them because the bank was raising the interest rate. After consulting with a lawyer and realizing that not only do I make too little to make a dent in what I owe but I have essentially no retirement plan, I decided to file Chapter 7. What am I looking forward to most? Believe it or not, the post-bankruptcy budget counseling … a retirement plan … and a decent violin. Even though I’m good with numbers and no dummy when it comes to planning, I am definitely my father’s daughter when it comes to my personal finances.

Have a safe Memorial Day!